Minot Area Community Foundation
Minot Area Community Foundation

Bremer Impact Fund Grants
The Minot Area Community Foundation's Bremer Impact Fund has made two significant gifts in 2018. The first to The Roosevelt Park Zoo for $100,000 which is the fund's largest grant to date. The funds from this grant will be used in the new Amur Tiger exhibit for the River Valley Cat Walk.


The second grant from The Bremer Impact Fund went to The Magic City Discovery Center in the amount of $25,000 for their capital campaign. MCDC is in the early stages of raising funds for a full-scale, permanent children's museum in Minot.

Power of the Purse Completes Significant Project
Our Power of the Purse (PoP) Giving Circle recently completed a large-scale project to benefit a very specific population in the Minot area. The Sanctuary, Sober Living Home for Women opened at the beginning of May. The home itself was purchased and furnished by Power of the Purse Inc., a corporation that was specifically formed to complete this project. The PoP membership voted back at their Fall 2017 meeting to grant all of their remaining funds for the year, $16,000, towards the down payment of a transitional living home. Members of the PoP Board worked tirelessly over the next several months to make sure the project came to fruition. They worked closely with the Hope Manor Sober Living Homes out of Bismarck and ultimately were able to retain a manager from one of the homes there. Carolyn Engh founded The Sanctuary and now runs the Minot home. A grant from The Minot Area Community Foundation's Arnold Besserud Fund made it possible for the group to furnish the home and get it move-in ready.  

The Sanctuary is now accepting applications for residency. Applicants must be female, over 18 years of age and must never have been convicted of a violent or sexual crime. Upon entry of the home, all residents must adhere to house rules and guidelines like drug and alcohol screenings and job placement. Please contact Carolyn for an application or if you are interested in donating towards their mission. thesanctuary2018@gmail.com


The Minot Area Community Foundation has two scholarship funds, The Minot Rotary Club Scholarship Fund and The Anna & Harold Bergstrom Scholarship Fund. Both were awarded to area Seniors this Spring and are listed below. Congrats to all the winners!

2018 Minot Rotary Club Scholarship Winners: Hannah Heisler – Minot HS, Jessica Kesler – Minot HS, Lyndsey Spelhaug – Minot HS, Connor Templeton – Minot HS, Karolynn Winger – Our Redeemer’s, Karlee Zablotney – Our Redeemer’s, Ensley Poindexter – South Prairie HS, Karena Verbitsky – South Prairie HS, Caitlyn Vogel – Des Lacs Burlington HS, Andrea Buechler – Harvey HS, Karlie Dockter – Harvey HS, Haley Egeberg – Harvey HS, Lindsey English – Harvey HS, Kevin Friedt – Harvey HS, Matthew Voeller – Harvey HS, Jessica Rosencrans – Powers Lake HS, Jacquelyn Blessum – Rugby HS, Whitney Gronvold – Rugby HS, Nicole Postovit – Tioga HS, and Nicholas Effertz – Velva HS


2018 Anna & Harold Bergstrom Scholarship Winners: Aaron Voigt ($3,000); Trevor Savelkoul ($2,000); Calli Brackebury ($2,000); Levi Feland ($2,000); Mikaylee Bahl ($1,000); Tanner Lembke ($1,000); Cole Southam ($1,000); Madasun Frech ($1,000); Chase Gates ($1,000); and Beau Driscoll ($1,000)



Copyright ©2024 Minot Area Community Foundation

606 Burdick Expressway West , Suite A Minot ND 58701-4218

You can subscribe, unsubscribe or change your preferences in the newsletter section
of our web site. SmartMail is a product of Odney.